My intentions for the blog

I haven’t yet written a great deal in The Metaphysician, although I have a fair bit of stuff that I’ve gathered over the years about humanness and soul-making that I would like to put onto the blog.

The blog is not intended as a place for systematic theology or philosophy, but is more in the nature of an exploratory building of a mosaic. I may include apparently random thoughts and quotations – as the fancy takes me, as the ideas come into my head and heart – but my hope is that these bits and pieces will reveal patterns in my thinking that are currently obscure to me.

Why do this in a blog? Well, there’s something stimulating about taking a risk and exposing one’s thoughts and feelings to others, inviting comments and hoping that others will join in the exploration. I don’t do bungee jumping, I don’t want to walk naked from Lands End to John O’Groats, I don’t even do extreme ironing. Opening a spiritual and intellectual exploration is about as exciting as my life gets.

It may come to little or nothing. It may build into something rather bigger than I could do by myself. But, ultimately, I’m doing this to please and educate myself. Not a lofty ambition, but I don’t feel qualified to do more. I’m not a scholar or a theologian or an artist or a psychotherapist. I have (as someone once said about someone else) a great deal to be modest about. So, for what it’s worth, here it is. Patterns may emerge from the chaos – and I’ll be happy with that.

As a friend said to me in an email today about himself, ‘I move more easily in a pragmatic, poetic, intuitive knight’s movish sort of way among ideas – lazy and half-baked by comparison [with systematic and rigorous scholars].’ That’s more my style, too.

I want to include material from a wide range of sources – the arts, poetry, mystical works, philosophers and thinkers such as Abraham Joshua Heschel, psychology, science of all kinds, the exploration of near death experiences… I really want to explore our humanness, soul-making, the spiritual life, the life of the mind.

So, here’s to the knights move!

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

